Genderqueer in the UK

All the information you need to be recognised outside of the gender binary

Department for Work and Pensions: Misc

An envelope addressed to the author using the title Misc.

Click to enlarge this marvellous item. It’s an envelope from the Department for Work and Pensions. I sent them a letter to tell them about my identity, which contained my deed poll for my new name, and an information sheet about genderqueer titles and pronouns, among other things. They sent my deed poll and information sheet back to me and I received it today. Yes, that’s the title Misc in front of my name on the envelope, there.

The DWP, at least a small part of it, has recognised a gender-neutral title.

Have you had Misc or Mx recognised by any organisations, small or large? Leave a comment, and link to pages where you’ve written about it, and we’ll include it in our as yet unpublished genderqueer-friendly organisations database.

(Inspired by this and the passport success yesterday, I’ve written to all the remaining organisations that need to know about the new name. I will let you know about all the responses.)

2 responses to “Department for Work and Pensions: Misc

  1. click here May 4, 2014 at 11:04 am

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded
    this onto a coworker who had been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he actually ordered me dinner due to the fact that I found it for
    him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this topic here on your web page.

    • Cassian May 4, 2014 at 11:43 am

      Hey that’s wonderful! Free dinner is ALWAYS a plus! :)

      You and your co-worker might be interested in seeing the Mx PDF, which has evidence of lots of major organisations and branches of the government using and offering Mx.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

